Additional Provincial Support for HKLB Municipalities During COVID-19

The Ontario government is providing an additional $2,260,340 to help municipalities in Haliburton-Kawartha Lakes-Brock address ongoing COVID-19-related operating costs and keep capital projects on track.

“COVID-19 has presented challenges for our municipal partners and this new provincial funding will help municipalities continue to provide the critical services they deliver to residents,” said Laurie Scott, MPP for Haliburton-Kawartha Lakes-Brock. “This funding will help ensure stability while municipalities proceed with planned projects that will help drive Ontario’s economic recovery”.

Local municipal funding is as follows: 


provincial funding

Algonquin Highlands, Township of



Brock, Township of



Cavan Monaghan, Township of



Dysart et al, Municipality of



Minden Hills, Township of



Haliburton, County of



Highlands East, Municipality of



Kawartha Lakes, City of





Today’s announcement is part of the province’s $500 million investment to help ensure the stability of Ontario’s 444 municipalities as they plan for the year ahead. The funding is being prioritized to help municipalities hardest hit by the pandemic and can be used for things like personal protective equipment, cleaning supplies and by-law enforcement.

“Our government continues to adapt and respond to the COVID-19 pandemic as it evolves, and we know our municipal partners are on the front lines of this effort – providing the critical services people depend on every day,” said Steve Clark, Minister of Municipal Affairs and Housing. “Our municipalities have been clear that they need ongoing operating funding in 2021, and it is important that we step up and provide that support so our municipal partners can continue to deliver the services Ontarians rely on each and every day.”

This provincial investment builds on the $1.39 billion in operating funding that was provided to municipal partners through the joint federal-provincial Safe Restart Agreement. The second phase of the Safe Restart Agreement was allocated to all Ontario municipalities in December, to ensure that no community entered 2021 facing an operating deficit from 2020.

“Municipalities are important partners in the fight against COVID-19,” said Peter Bethlenfalvy, Minister of Finance and President of the Treasury Board. “We know the global pandemic has created significant financial challenges for communities across the province. That’s why we have been there with support from the very beginning. I encourage our federal partners to step forward with additional investments as all three governments work together to protect people’s health and jobs.”


Visit Ontario’s website to learn more about how the province continues to protect the people of Ontario from COVID-19.