MPP Laurie Scott Announces Additional Financial Relief for Haliburton-Kawartha Lakes-Brock

In December, MPP Laurie Scott announced more than $1.7 million dollars in additional
provincial assistance for municipalities in Haliburton-Kawartha Lakes-Brock as part of
Phase 2 of the Safe Restart Agreement in response to the COVID-19 pandemic.

“This new funding will help municipalities in HKLB develop a 2021 budget that reflects
the challenges of COVID-19,” said Laurie Scott, MPP for Haliburton-Kawartha LakesBrock. “As we continue on the path of renewal, growth and economic recovery, our government is supporting municipalities so they are able to provide the critical services community members rely on.”

Local municipal funding is as follows:



Algonquin Highlands


Brock Township


Cavan Monaghan


Dysart et al


Haliburton County


Highlands East


Kawartha Lakes


Minden Hills




The Ontario government is allocating an additional $695 million across the province to provide financial relief for municipalities and help ensure they do not carry operating deficits into 2021.This investment builds upon the first phase of the federal-provincial Safe Restart Agreement announced this summer.

“This joint funding will help Ontario’s municipalities recover from the impacts of COVID19 faster, by helping them to enter into 2021 without operating deficits from this year,” said Steve Clark, Minister of Municipal Affairs and Housing. “By ensuring our municipal partners are in a sound financial position to begin the new year, they can better focus
on keeping their capital projects on track while continuing to provide the critical services
their residents rely on.”

Of the $695 million announced today, $299 million is being allocated across all 444
municipalities to help provide more financial relief, as 2021 operating budgets are
finalized. An additional $396 million is also being allocated to 48 municipalities that have
been hardest hit by COVID-19 and who have demonstrated a need for additional
assistance in covering their 2020 operating deficits.


  • The federal-provincial Safe Restart Agreement is a historic partnership that
    secured up to $4 billion in emergency funding for Ontario’s municipalities to help
    them on the road to a safe recovery.
  • In August, an initial investment of $1.6 billion was provided so every Ontario
    municipality could address their operating pressures, support transit systems and
    help vulnerable people.
  • The Ontario government has provided $510 million to municipalities and
    Indigenous community partners through the Social Services Relief Fund to help
    protect the health and safety of vulnerable people during COVID-19.
  • The province has made an additional three-year, $45-billion commitment to help
    communities recover as part of Ontario’s Action Plan: Protect, Support, Recover.
    This includes critical investments in health and other initiatives, to ensure Ontario
    is more resilient in the future.
  • Ontario is also supporting municipalities in finding budget savings and
    efficiencies through the Audit and Accountability Fund and Municipal
    Modernization Program -- supporting municipalities with third-party audits and
    service reviews. Municipalities have already received $215 million through these